Productivity vs. A Life

… because it really seems like you can only have one or the other. Well, for the last week, I’ve chosen having productivity over having a life (which would also account for the unacceptable lateness of this post- apologies), and it seems to have paid off so far.

I’ve had two wonderful steps forward on my pitted path to publication! I had a short story accepted for publication later this year- I’m super excited. It’s my first publication outside of, like, elementary school newsletter sorts of things, and so I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself. I’ve gotten together a new batch of short stories to send out to another round of e-zines and the like. The second awesomeness is that I finished the most recent edition of my current work-in-progress, City of the Dead, a 122k-word NA epic fantasy. It’s been cleaned up and sent out to beta readers, and I’m trying really, really hard to not pester them every two minutes. These are exciting times for me- and I love my betas!

I’ve posted the first chapter in celebration. I’d love any feedback on it you might have. Thanks for reading!

City of the Dead
Chapter One:

Decades of careful training sent the arrow unerringly into the goblin’s left eye. It fell back with a short shriek and the others skittered back around the corner, scrambling over each other to get back behind cover.

“That was my last one,” Merith growled, letting the bow slide from his fingers to the ground.

“I am out, too,” his friend said, his voice choked with despair.

Merith glanced over at him, his eyes fierce. “We can still get out of this, Blackwood,” he insisted angrily.

Read More…

Leave a Reply

