The Hero’s Journey

Nelson Mandela, a hero of mine, passed away today. I know this is a writing blog, not necessarily a personal blog, so I’ll couch this in a book recommendation.

Five or ten years ago, I knew relatively little about Nelson Mandela. I knew that he was the first black president of South Africa, that he fought against Apartheid and was an all-around good guy. I like human rights and I like rugby, and so my sister-in-law sent me a book by John Carlin called Invictus: Nelson Mandela and the Game That Made a Nation (previously titled “Playing the Enemy“). You can look at it on Amazon here or just Google it for other reviews. I loved this book. Loved, loved, wanted to sleep with it at night, loved. I highly recommend it.

[If you prefer a shorter read, here is his obituary from BBC.]

Nelson Mandela is one of the most brilliant, compassionate, and courageous people this world has produced and I was sorry to hear of his passing today. My condolences go out to his family, friends, and nation. May all of us leave the world a little better than we find it.

Leave a Reply

