Cutting Words- Revising

KillDarlings-3
I encountered Wendy Sparrow on Twitter whilst totally, unabashedly eavesdropping on someone else’s conversation. (Warning to all people considering being my Twitter pal: I eavesdrop. Constantly. Shamelessly. Nothing is safe.) And, like the little weasel I am, I followed the link intended for other eyes, and found this little gem on the other end. Of course, it was so beautiful that I had to introduce myself and beg her indulgence in letting me reblog it for all of you fine folks. (Because this is a NaNo month and, in addition to goofy, vaguely-creepy doodles, this is what I do.) Without further ado, the LDS (like me!), supposedly-grown-up-military-brat (like me!), mother of two (like me!), writer extraordinaire (eh, close): Wendy Sparrow!

I’m working on a revision– which is to say I’m a breathing, working writer. Revision is the other side of writing. I spend more time revising than actually writing. Something always needs revision and, if you’re prolific, maybe several things need revision all at once.

As I’ve grown as a writer, I’ve started to notice words that show up for a cameo in everything I write–as well as I’ve noticed things that just need to be cut or noted in revision. So, when I do a read-through, I don’t need to do anything other than highlight the word to know what needs to be done with it. For my revisions, there are three types of word annihilation.

Read More Here!

Leave a Reply

