A Thousand Dollars to Blow

This hypothetical situation brought to you by a kind donation from Uncle Scrooge.

This hypothetical situation brought to you by a kind donation from Uncle Scrooge.

I don’t know about you folks, but I’ve got about three dollars to spend on a good day. That said, one of the best things about being poor is being able to torture your partner with all the cool stuff you can’t afford. A typical conversation may go something like this:

“If you had a thousand bucks to blow, what would you spend it on?”

“Uh… food.”

“No, we already have food.”

Good food.”

“Pick something better.”

“Dental care.”

“No, something fun.”

“Having teeth is fun.”

No. Something fun.”

Siiigh.”

This is what I call “The Caveat Stage”. This is where we get down to the particular genre of things we would spend money on. Last time we played this game, my husband asked what writing stuff I would buy. I talked about different writing software I wanted to try out, but I decided I wanted to revisit the question once I had a little more time to think about it.  So here it is, my well-thought-out spending extravaganza.

Thousand Monies o’ Stuff:

≥600: Light editing for Dead Timmy

≥200: Cover art for Dead Timmy

≥200: Writer’s Digest University

Remainders: Various writing competitions

So. Give what research I’ve done into it, these actually seem like viable numbers. Dead Timmy is hardly more than half the word count that City of the Dead is, putting premier editing costs at about $1200. But I don’t need premier. I figure half that rate is fine if I hunt around for someone willing to go at it for a smaller cost- someone without many projects at the time, someone new to the business and looking to pad the resume, someone I can blackmail and/or bribe with baked goods, etc.

I haven’t looked too deeply into the costs of cover design, but from what I’ve read on other sites, this can actually happen at a much lower cost than what I initially anticipated. Much of the actual designing can be done on one’s own (after tons and tons of research- seriously, if you’re going to cheap out on money, don’t cheap out on time, too). But since I’m not a good enough artist to do make pretty pictures on my own, I’d want to hire a professional, even if that pro is, say, an art student still in college somewhere, or a gal/guy painting on the side. Some places I’ve heard that are good for finding a cover artist on the cheap include Tumblr, DeviantArt, Twitter, and Fiverr. (If you know of others, PRETTY PLEASE let me know in the comments! My ignorance knows no bounds!)

Classes, webinars, and tutorials. I picked Writer’s Digest because they’re widely recognized and have a reputation for quality, but I could really spend this money on any class anywhere. (Except at UAF. I looked up a writing class at my dear ol’ alma mater, but the $800 they wanted for one class wasn’t exactly a steal. Thanks, mater.) A skim through the WD class list cropped up lots of classes that I would very much like to be a part of. Unfortunately, the ones I most liked were pretty far out of my price range (looks like mater wasn’t as pricey as I first thought- I’m just cheap.), but there are a few in the range that I thought would be interesting. (I even managed to squeak into a free webinar recently that I enjoyed. I’ll write about it in a few weeks.)

Anything left over (unlikely, haha) would be put to good use entering writing contests. I’ve never done one with an entry fee and I’d be very interested in seeing what that narrowed pool would do to the playing field.

So after looking all of this up, I realized anew that I’m a chintzy little penny pincher, about as glad to part with money as I am with a pulse. (Also, I’m not allowed to put the money in the bank. I checked.) But since this is pretty much Monopoly money I’m playing with here, why not make things really fun? In fact…

Revised Thousand Monies o’ Stuff:

1000: Wicked awesome book trailer with explosions and lens flares and stuff

Boom, baby. Gonna be SWEET.

PS- A couple of quick reminders!  If you wanted to participate in the Bio Bash, we seem to be meeting up for the Twitter portion on Monday, February 23; longer formats will be posted here at jillmarcotte.wordpress.com the following day, February 24, with critiques from there on out.  If you wanted to participate in the writer-blogger idea exchange, that can be found here– lots of people have been looking at the page, but only two have commented so far. 😦 Remember to give as well as take!

One thought on “A Thousand Dollars to Blow

Leave a Reply

