Reblog: Writer on the Road

I’m still traveling (and this is the first time I’ve had internet in over a week! augh!) and it’s been super de duper hard to find writing time since we left home in May.  This has become extra irksome now that it’s a NaNo month (double augh!).  But at least now that it’s a NaNo month, I can inundate you with reblogs and silly garbage instead of actually working on a somewhat thoughtful post.

Here’s a neat article by Peter Korchnak I read recently at his and his wife’s blog Where Is Your Toothbrush? about writing while traveling- hopefully useful for someone more than just me!

Writer on the Road: How to Write while Traveling

One of my main personal goals for the round-the-world trip was to work on my writing career. By getting away from the daily grind of a commute, a job, and a mortgage I meant to spend more time doing what I love and hone my craft. Before departure I had started building a foundation for an eventual book with the blog American Robotnik and self-published Guerrilla Yardwork: The First-Time Home Owner’s Handbook. On the trip I intended to keep the momentum by

  • writing this blog to develop material for a book about how to feel at home anywhere in the world;
  • writing a memoir of becoming a man in Czechoslovakia during the transition to democracy; and
  • freelancing.

Aside from a growing blog, it didn’t quite work out that way: the memoir is out and a mystery novel in; I’ve concocted a couple of other long-term writing projects; I only managed to land a handful of freelance articles and only had two literary non-fiction pieces published, albeit one as a winning piece of a prestigious contest. The biggest lesson: Writing while traveling is much, much harder than I thought…

Ready for more?  Go read the rest of the article, and tons more, at Where is your Toothbrush?

Leave a Reply

