Happy Poetry Month

Alright! We are now over halfway through the month, and… I have not yet begun to write. 😦 Don’t worry. I think this is still possible. Probably. If I get through enough homework tonight, I’ve promised myself that I’m allowed to blow off the rest and actually get started on the NaNo project for the month. I’m in the last two weeks of my class and the last four weeks of work, so I’m really feeling the heat, but I still think I can pull this off.

In the meantime, here’s some poetry I’ve made with students over the last couple of weeks! The first one is a color poem that I made to demonstrate drafting and revising for word choice while introducing color poems to the students, the first of their month-long poetry unit. (Don’t judge me on my color choice, haha. I needed to pick something none of the students possibly would.) It has endured light editing. The second one is a poem I wrote based on a question from a student that, later and in conjunction with the eclipse, inspired a space science perspective painting lesson. This poem has endured no editing at all, haha. It’s been a fun couple of weeks at school!

I hope you’ve had a chance to write or at least enjoy some poetry this month. If not, there’s still time! So until next week, happy writing!

Puce

Puce is a planter’s dawn in hazy twilight

Puce is a French queen’s silk gown

Puce is running down a dustry trail of wild rose

Puce tastes like lavender macrons, crisp and chewy

Puce smells like blueberry muffins browning in the oven

Puce sounds like earthen beads clacking on my wrist

Puce feels like a great-grandma’s velvet wedding dress

Puce looks like smoky rose quartz set in gold

Puce makes me skin-crawly with fleas and history

Pluto

A student asked me today

Which planet was my favorite

And I thought of ringed Saturn

And bejeweled Neptune

And sprinting, fiery Mercury.

But mostly I thought of Pluto,

Demoted, disregarded,

Cold, and dark, and alone,

Hades without his springtime Persephone

No Cerberus to lick his hands,

No Elysian Fields to lie in,

Just a lonely rock,

Orbiting with hardly a

Kiss of sunlight on his cheek

And even though the student said

It was not correct,

I chose Pluto.

Leave a comment